Configuring Index so each product belongs to multiple facets

Hi there,

I’m new to algolia and trying to set up my index in a way to allow each product to belong to multiple facets. In our case, we want to be able to have a faceted search by color, but each product should actually have 2+ colors associated with it. I wasn’t able to find anything similar in the forums, so maybe I’m thinking about this the wrong way and need to be using a different tool.

Hi there,

You can specify multiple facets values for a the same facet (color in your case). You only need to use an array.
Have you checked this documentation: https://www.algolia.com/doc/guides/searching/faceting/?language=scala#declaring-attributes-for-faceting?

Best,

Thanks. I’ll try that.

I did see that documentation, but from what I can tell, it doesn’t mention the case where a single record will have 2+ values for the same facetable property.

@rcs this didn’t work. It seems that the faceting tool expects a single attribute with a single value for each item. All of my records currently have colors: ["color1", "color2"].

My faceting widget is

instantSearch.widgets.refinementList({
    container: '#refinement-list',
    attributeName: 'colors'
})

Nothing is rendered. I have added colors as a faceted attribute in the dashboard.

However, I have another (outdated) attribute of the form options: {color: "color1"}.
Using the following “works” in that it displays and processes faceting, but only for a single color (all records with the above format only have a single color associated).

instantSearch.widgets.refinementList({
   container: '#refinement-list',
   attributeName: 'options.color'
})

So as it stands, it seems impossible to have records with an attribute containing more than one option, and to use that attribute as the basis for a faceted search.

Maybe focusing on the desired outcome instead of the implementation would help. I want: