Custom markup for refinementList

Sorry for what is probably a very basic question – but I am new to Algolia and am trying to understand the best method to render custom markup for the refinementList. I have a basic (and working) understanding of how to achieve some of what I need – but what I am trying to determine is how to go about removing all the OOB markup.

What I get:

<div class="ais-body ais-refinement-list--body">
  <div class="ais-refinement-list--list">
    <div class="ais-refinement-list--item">
      <div>
         ...my custom markup here...

What I am after is basic unordered list markup:

<ul>
    <li>...</li>
</ul>

So I’d like to strip away all the [class*="ais-refinement-list"] and no class list child <div> elements.

I appreciate any help/guidance you might be able to provide. Thank you.

Hi there,
Thanks for reaching out to us.
I’m not sure if you’re using InstantSearch.js or other flavors like React, Vue.js or Angular.
Assuming you’re on InstantSearch.js,

The link above shows you how to customize the markup for refinementList.
At the end of the doc, there is a full example which basically uses ul & li as you said.

I’m happy to help you, so let me know if there is anything you want to know more or if you don’t understand any part of the doc.