Group results by year in labelled sections

Hi, I’m new to Algolia and have been experimenting with it on my Hugo static site.

Currently I have posts grouped by year. e.g.

Is it possible to achieve this same format via instantsearch.js?

So far I’ve only been able to work out how to show a list of posts:

How would I go about grouping/templating the results in to labelled sections (by year from the index)?

Thank you.

What you can do is set attributeForDistinct to year; and then set distinct: 3 (for example, any number could make sense) in your frontend implementation. Then the results will be grouped by year in the response, and you can use _distinctSeqId in the response to show the year.

An example of this is the SaaS use case in the interactive tutorial: https://www.algolia.com/doc/onboarding/#/pick-dataset

@haroen Thank you for this. I’ve managed to set both the attributeForDistinct to year and configure distinct: 3. I see that that the results are grouped by year in the response.

But I’m struggling on just how to configure the frontend hits template to show this. I’m ending up with:

my post
    another post from 2020
    post from 2019

instead of:

my post
    another post from 2020
    post from 2019

Could you maybe clarify how do I’d utilise _distinctSeqId in a template so the results are grouped under each year?

my index is rather simple:

{
  "title": "Blackberry and blueberry pie",
  "description": "A delicious pie recipe that combines blueberries and blackberries.",
  "year": 2020
}

Hi,

I believe you can use the connector connectHits instead of the regular <Hits /> component. This will allow you to have full control on the set of results that are returned, and you could easily do the grouping in the front end by year.

import { connectHits } from 'react-instantsearch-dom';

const GroupedByYearHits = ({ group }) => ... // up to you to design the component however you like

const HitsWithGroups = ({ hits }) => {