Help with searchForFacetValues widget on Shopify

Hi all,

I am a complete beginner at all things tech-related so please bear with me, any and all help is greatly appreciated!

We would like to add the searchForFacetValues and showMore widgets to our search page but I am struggling to understand exactly how to do it.

I more or less understand the demo code (below for reference) but I do not know how to determine my container name, header etc which all seem related.

search.addWidget(
    instantsearch.widgets.refinementList({
      container: '#brand',
      attributeName: 'brand',
      operator: 'or',
      searchForFacetValues: {
        placeholder: 'Search for brands',
        templates: {
          noResults: '<div class="sffv_no-results">No matching brands.</div>',
        },
      },
      templates: {
        header: getHeader('Brand'),
      },
    })
  );

It is for this development store: https://ftt-metafields.myshopify.com/search?q=cell&hPP=12&idx=shopify_products&p=0&type=product&is_v=1
Password: kliage

We would like the user to be able to search for their colleges name within each of those alphabetized filter boxes on the left.

Thanks!

A container is an HTML block where you want your widget to be rendered.
What we expect as a string there is a CSS selector (this is a way to select a specific HTML block).
You’ll find more information about how to get one here:

On your website, the search is currently failing because you’ve been trying a selector that doesn’t match any block on your page.

Error: Container must be `string` or `HTMLElement`. Unable to find [class~="ais-facet-options.Colleges_N"]

Whenever you active a facet as hidden in the Search Options tab of the app, we actually create an empty block that you can use to activate this facet.

If you follow the process above, you’ll find it there:

As you can see, you almost had the right container, you’ll indeed just need to modify it to:

[class~="ais-facet-named_tags.Colleges_N"]