How to implement dropdown filter and toggle

Hey Algolia peeps,

First a quick disclaimer, I’m a tech newbie. :grinning:

I’ve managed to get instantsearch.js to work on my project by following your tutorials. I would be grateful for any advice on how to implement the following features as I’m lost.

1. I would like to add a dropdown filter similar in function and interface to the examples shown for Algolia Places.
  • I would like a user to only be able to search the cities and countries listed in my index.
  • This dropdown filter would need to be connected to instantsearch.js so a user can search for a product and select a location to further narrow down the displayed results.

I don’t know if I need to create seperate indexes for cities and countries to do this, or how to integrate the dropdown filter with instantsearch.js.

1. I would like to add a simple toggle for the parameter highlight.
  • When the toggle is off it shows both highlight true and false results.
  • When it is on it shows only true results.

I’ve had a look at your documentation, but I can’t get this to work as I need to see a full example with the HTML included.

1. I display all products on the homepage. I’ve successfully implemented search here. I also have several category and productTypes pages that are a
    subset of all products displayed on the homepage, such as “Electronics”, “Headphones”, “Laptops”. I would like to implement search on these pages as well.

I don’t know how to do this. I assume this will be the most difficult to implement.

1. I’m worried about SEO. Is it best practice to include all products in noscript tags so if a user does not have javascript enabled they will still see the products, and search bots will be able to see the products that way as well?

2. Is there a way to make the search URL more friendly? Right now, it looks like this: http://localhost:8000/?q=product&hPP=10&idx=index&p=0.

Is it possible to have: http://localhost:8000/?q=product