How to use wildcard char in path name

Hi,

I’m new to Algolia. I’m an iOS developer using Swift on the client side and Firebase for my backend. I’m using Node.js for my Algolia implementation.

How do I set a wild card inside my Algolia root path?

The path is: root/users/userID/post

The ‘userID’ is set by using Firebase’s ‘childByAutoID’ which will give each user a different id number. I tried using an asterisk as a wildcard in my code but it doesn’t work:

var rootRef = firebase.database().ref(‘users/*/post’);

The cli is unresponsive and the Firebase data won’t get indexed.

However if I use:

var rootRef = firebase.database().ref(‘users/A178928/post’);

wherein A178928 is a user’s id then the Firebase data does get indexed.

This isn’t practical because I will have many users and I need to have a wildcard to use in the path.

Any ideas on how I should approach this?

var rootRef = firebase.database().ref(‘users/wildcard_needs_to_go_here/post’);

1 Like

Hi @lsamaria, thanks for asking your question. @chris_algolia has done a lot of work with Firebase and Algolia, Chris do you have any insights here?

@ismaria,

Firebase doesn’t support wildcard paths. You’ll want to listen to

var usersRef = firebase.database().ref(‘users’).

The trick is to listen to the usersRef’s child_added, child_changed, and child_removed events. Then, every time anything happens to a child, you can update the index.

I got sick of writing and rewriting this logic, so I put it all together in a package that will sync any Firebase ref to Algolia. You can find the repo here:

It’s called quiver-firebase-search on NPM. Hopefully the GitHub README is enough, but I’m happy to answer questions and improve the README if it’s confusing.

I’ve used quiver-firebase-search in three different apps. It’s currently working great, but three is a pretty small deployment, so it’s always possible that you’ll find a bug.