Image Size modifcation

Hi there,

I am quite new to Algolia and have a problem. using the script text/html tag: <script type="text/html" id="hit-template">

I need to get the image width with JS so that I can add text to the image that won’t exceed the bounds.

Is there a way of getting image information? I have used document.onload but the code is loading after the images have their id.

I’d appreciate assistance with this.

Thanks!

@elena Could you create a live example of what you tried and demonstrate us what’s failing so we can help you out? You can do so using this template: https://codesandbox.io/s/github/algolia/create-instantsearch-app/tree/templates/instantsearch.js

@vvo Essentially I am adding images from algolia and then I want to hover over the image and show text. The images are loaded into a flexbox therefore I want to know the width of the image to ensure that the text doesn’t go outside of the div. If I use an event listener it cannot find the image as it is not loaded yet. Therefore I want to know how to add this. Can you tell me what the image is called in the codesandbox then I can show you what I mean with your data?

Thanks
Peter

@elena I believe your problem is not Algolia specific (getting width/height of image) and I would advise you to ask your question on Stack Overflow instead. If you have an Algolia specific question or a bug using the options of our libraries let me know still!

@vvo Ah OK. I found a work around. Thank you

I have another Algolia specific query. I am currently using Algolia Autocomplete with instantsearch in a site to search paintings, galleries and artists. Obviously galleries and artists have many paintings, when searching the artist there are duplicated autocomplete responses for the same artist. I am using client side javascript. What is the best way to ensure that only one artist or gallery is returned and yet returning all their paintings in the search?

@elena - glad you found the workaround.