Index not indexing attribute of configurable child product in Magento 2

Hi all! Using Magento 2.3. I can’t tell what version of the Algolia extension as I am only an admin panel user.

The majority of our products are configurable products, configurable on the attribute ‘shade’. The parent product doesn’t have a shade. Each child product does.

The child products are set to ‘not visible individually’, which is standard practice as far as I know.

How can we ensure that the ‘shade’ attribute of the simple product is indexed and associated with the parent product?

The ‘shade’ attribute is included as a searchableAttribute.

Thank you!

Hey Virginia,

I’m Dorian, software engineer at Algolia.

When going to Stores > Configuration > Algolia Search > Products > Attributes you should see parent and child attributes. Then if you add “shade” as a searchable attribute and reindex the products it should appear in your Algolia search.

I hope this helps.

Cheers

Hi Dorian! Thanks for getting back to me.
I don’t see ‘parent and child attributes’ anywhere, only the main attributes list. Here’s what I see (no changes have been made to this panel, but I have reindexed recently). Is there something set incorrectly here?

Hi @virginia! Indeed you should be looking at your main attributes list and set shade as searchable, and Magento will allow it to appear in the parent object. Your configuration looks fine to me. Is the “shade” attribute still not present in the parent object?

Hi Chloe! It is greyed out on the parent product (regardless of scope) and won’t allow me to change it. I thought that was the correct setting!

What is super weird is that I swear that I had this working maybe a month back, and I don’t think anything has changed! The configs that I’ve shown have stayed the same, and I don’t think I made any changes to anything.

The ‘shade’ attribute definitely isn’t showing up in the Json response when I look at the dashboard.