Modify all results ais-instant-search

Hi,

I am currently upgrading vue-instantSearch to 2.0 so I’m new to these widgets. I’m using ais-instant-search and ais-hits on my page but I need to be able to modify all results in a method. Transform-items only gives me access to the current htis (set by the hits-per-page by the ais-configure)

So again, I’m trying to modify ALL results from ais-instant-search.

Thank You!!

Hey there @mjaimes, welcome to the community! I understand you’re using the transform-items prop to modify your hits. It’s true that this works on a page by page basis – could you explain your use case a bit more so we can understand what you’re after here or if we’re missing some key functionality?

If users are paginating through their results, shouldn’t it be enough to modify them on a page by page basis?

If you could reproduce what you’ve tried in a Codesandbox (just the minimum amount of code necessary to reproduce the issue) and explain what you’re going for here, it would be super helpful. :pray: This Vue InstantSearch template should be a good start.

Hi Maria,

Thank you for a quick reply! I need to inject some data to every item and then be able to sort by that data. I can do this on a per page basis but the sorting would be off as soon as someone clicks next page. Ideally I would be able to inject my data to all results before page loads.

Does this make sense?

Thank You!

Can you precise what you mean by “data”? Sorting items based on custom data on the frontend seems like an anti-pattern because search engines are made for this purpose.

Sorry for the confusion, in its simplest form of the question: Is there a way to modify the entire results and not just the hits?

Hi @mjaimes, Can you give an example of how you are trying to modify the results?

Hi sure,
I have this hits widget.

<ais-hits

:transform-items="transformItems"
    />

Then in the methods I have something like.

transformItems(items){
      this.helperResults = items;