Need help syncing Algolia with Firebase RealTimeDatabase for an iOS app via a Cloud Function

I’ve been using Heroku to sync Algolia with the Firebase RealTimeDatabase. I’ve recently started using Cloud Functions and I’ve decided to abandon Heroku in favor of that. I’m a native Swift iOS dev so Node.js is still foreign to me. After I’ve initialized my Firebase project with Cloud Functions I’ve been looking at tutorials on how to sync Algolia with the RDB but mostly everything is to sync with FireStore which I don’t use.

I have 2 questions:

For other uses the way I had to sync Cloud Functions with my iOS app, inside the view controller that connects with the cloud function, I had do this (it all works fine):

import Firebase
lazy var functions = Functions.functions()

@IBAction func buttonTapped(_ sender: UIButton) {

let data: [String: Any] = ["postId": "abc123", "uid": Auth.auth().currentUser!.uid, "name": "Adidas"]

let cloudFunctionName = "getData"

functions.httpsCallable(cloudFunctionName).call(data) { (result, error) in
        // ...
    }
}

And the cloud function:

exports.getData = functions.https.onCall((data, context) => {
    // ...
});

1- Do I need to do something similar, specifically add lazy var functions = Functions.functions() to the view controller with my search controller to connect my iOS app with the cloud function that I’m going to use for Algolia? Fyi I already have all of the previous Algolia code in the vc from using Heroku.

2- I’ve ran all the npm code needed for the cloud function Algolia and Firebase libraries, and config variables/API keys. Following this Algolia tutorial, is this all I need to sync? The tutorial makes this very easy but I want to make sure. This is the exact file that I am currently using.

const functions = require('firebase-functions');
const admin = require('firebase-admin');
admin.initializeApp();

const algoliasearch = require('algoliasearch');