Newbie React Component Questions

Hi new friends! I’m very new to Algolia, so please be gentle…

I’m testing out Algolia react components for a Gatsby-based documentation site. I have the <InstantSearch> component working in my header, complete with a searchresult overlay, following the guide here.

I’d like to also make a standard search result page for our product to be able to link to, which accepts query params and displays in a separate results field outside of the header. I’ve got the query params inserted into the search component in the header, but I’m unsure how to get a results component that lives in a separate file take the results from that query.

If that’s not possible and I need to construct a new <InstantSearch> component from scratch on that page, then do I need to disable the one in the header? I’ve tried just having two, but the in-page components don’t seem to use the query.

Thanks in advance!

I may be rubber ducking a bit here, so please forgive me. I’ve set up the search component in my header to not render on the search page, and imported the search component again in the body of the search page.

I’ve then set up the <StyledSearchResult> component twice. The first is given the primary property header, which I’m using to conditionally render the popover CSS. All that’s working.

My concern now is using searchState to import the query from the URI parameters. When that value is set, the search field is no longer editable. When it’s not set, the search box works, but it doesn’t load the search value from the URI.

Are searchState and onSearchStateChange mutually exclusive? How can I load a page with a default search result, but still allow new searches?

edit: Here’s the code:

export default function Search({ indices, page, searchQuery}) {
  //console.log("searchQuery in search component: ", searchQuery) //For Debugging
  const rootRef = createRef()
  const [query, setQuery] = useState(searchQuery)