Ranking based on Score / array size

Hi, I’ve looked through the docs and couldn’t find an answer but I am new to Algolia and sorry if the solution is obvious.

I have an idex like this:
[ { "name": "My program 1", "exerciseIds": [ "e05l", "e01a", "e01m", "e01o", "e087" ], }, { "name": "My program 2", "exerciseIds": [ "e01m", "e0c9", "e0cp", ], }, ]

I do a filter of this kind:
(exerciseIds:e01a OR exerciseIds:e087 OR exerciseIds:e0cp) and sumOrFiltersScores: true

Which gives me all the records that contain the queried terms, ranked by the number of matches in the exerciseIds array. But this solution promotes records with larger arrays, as they will tend to get a higher score.

What I would like to get is a ranking based on the percentage of matches, or in other terms, based on the individual score divided by the record’s array length (“exerciseIds” here).

Is that possible?

Hi Louis,

To my knowledge, this is not something that you could achieve with Algolia through search parameters. What I understand is that you have multiple occurrences of the same value in your array. On possible solution, is to deduplicate those values. The sorting could be different and closer to what you’re looking for.

Hi Octave,
Each filter value is present at most once in the record’s array, there is no duplicate.
So it is not possible to have a ranking that is a function of the score and a record’s property ?
(the array’s length could be a separate value in the record if that helps)

I see! In that case, one possible workaround would be to have a new attribute on your records that represents the array length. Having so would allow you to sort by ascending value, meaning the shortest arrays would appear higher.

I am not certain how that would combine with the sumOrFiltersScores option so the best would be that you try it out and see if that matches what you expect in terms of relevancy.

Well actually I would like the array’s length to have zero influence in the ranking.