Remove category from algolia search

I am new to coding. I want to exclude the “Uncategorized” category from the Algolia search. Here is the category what I want to hide.
wp-admin/term.php?taxonomy=category&tag_ID=1

I tried in this way. But no luck. Please help.

add_filter('algolia_should_index_term', 'custom_should_index_term', 10, 2);
function custom_should_index_term( $should_index, WP_Term $term ) {

$categories_to_exclude = 'uncategorized';

if ( false === $should_index ) {
        return $should_index;
    }

if ( in_array($term->term_id, $categories_to_exclude ) ) {
        return false;
    }

return $should_index;
}

Hi @mayuripeiris, If you are creating your own WordPress plugin according to our guide, you will need to create that filter in your code much like the ‘algolia_index_name’ filter that’s created here. If you don’t have an ‘apply_filters’ in your indexing method, the filter you have above will never be triggered.

1 Like

Hi @cindy.cullen, thank you for your reply. I am using a custom WordPress plugin according to your guide. As you said writing the code without ‘apply_filters’ may be the reason. I would be grateful to you if you could tell me how the code should be to trigger properly. At least an example of excluding categories is better. Thank you.

Hey there!

I’ve noticed in your code that $categories_to_exclude is a string, but you’re trying to use it as an array with the in_array function. This likely evaluates to null right now, so you don’t enter your condition and return false as you would expect.

You can fix this by making it an array instead:

$categories_to_exclude = ['uncategorized'];

Also, I would make sure to make terms case-insensitive before comparing:

if (in_array(strtolower($term->term_id), $categories_to_exclude)) {
  return false;
}
1 Like

Hi @sarah.dayan, Thank you for replying. I tried as you instructed. But still ‘uncategorized’ displays.

add_filter('algolia_should_index_term', 'custom_should_index_term', 10, 2);