Setting up InstantSearch with multiple search boxes

I am new to Algolia and am trying to integrate it into a React App.There is a search bar in the site header which will appear on each page, as well as a search bar on the homepage and results page. Autocomplete will be integrated into only 2 of the 3 searchbars.

I gotInstantSearch to work on the results page, but now run into the issue of how to integrate the other search bars from the header and homepage. I tried wrapping the entire site in an InstantSearch component, but when I type a search term into one of the SearchBoxes the value will appear in all of the search boxes. What is the best way to integrate InstantSearch when you want to have multiple searchboxes that will all lead to the same results page.

Hi @cmc,

In general, InstantSearch is one searchbar that is used to display results on the same page as you type - this can either be via a dropdown or tiles showing products on the page. For example, see below:

From an initial review of your question, you may be trying to create the “dropdown for federated search”, then on click it goes to the product page. However, if this is not the case could you please clarify for us?

Thank you

Hi @ajay.david: Thanks for your response, to clarify, I am using React InstantSearch and I currently have a search page with a searchbox and everything works well. But I want to add a searchbox to the header of my website so people can search regardless if they are on the search page or not.

I have tried wrapping my entire site in an InstantSearch but when I type into one searchbox, the other search box shows the same value being typed into it. I think this goes back to your mention on it being meant for only one searchbox. What is the best way to implement the React InstantSearch if you want to have multiple search boxes?

Hi @cmc,