Using Distinct/De-dupe with fields >10k

Hello I’m new to Algolia, and am interested in making it work for a solution I’m building out.

I have some fields that contain >10k in them and would like to search against them. So reading the docs - I could split them up and group them - Which I have done. So as an example I now have a simple schema with 2 records with a field called CREF (Which is distinct and used in grouping) and NOTES which contains the data to search against.

So using the example data below and algoiia dashboard - If I search for Donald I get 1 record - if I search for Brexit I get 1 record (the second piece) - I have turned on the advanced option and If I do a search for +Donald +Brexit I get 0 records - but all I’m after is still the CREF of 1.
I’m not really interested in ranking just the results that the boolean search returns.
Am I missing something here? Could anybody point me in the right direction.? Is Algolia the right tool for the job? Any help appreciated.

Thanks for your help - sorry for the 1st long Q&A.

{
“CREF”: 1,