Using react instantsearch for react native

Hi, I am new to algolia, and I read through docs some of it. I followed this guide but I have some questions: https://community.algolia.com/react-instantsearch/Getting_started_React_native.html#install-react-instantsearch

My question is on the Hits component. It seems that displaying a list of records (lets say list of users) the data is being taken from Algolia database/index. I was wondering what If I want to use only the SearchBox and query from algolia when search happens only. Now I’m not sure if this is possible or whether its done that way for a better perfomance. Looking for insights regarding this.

Also, in the component InstantSearch, the appId and apiKey should be provided there. isn’t it supposed to be hidden from front-end code!?

One last thing, in Hits component, specifically connectInfiniteHits which has a function that’s called refine() when page reaches the end to fetch more data. Where is the limit is set (fetches per page)? is it set while setting the index ?

Hi @sherzad,

I’m not sure to fully understand your first point. You don’t want to display the results immediately? What is the behaviour that you expect? With the connectors API you can customise the widgets to your needs. Take a look at connectStateResults, we also have a guide on conditional display in our documentation.

For the concern about the privacy of the keys, the appId can be public without any trouble. For the apiKey there is two types of keys created by default when you create an account at Algolia. The first one is the “Admin API Key”, this one must never be shared or present in your front end code. It’s used to configure & push data to your index. The second one is the “Search-Only API Key”. This one can be public you can only query the data from your index. You can find more informations about the API keys in our documentation.